
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
 SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS 
 
 

§ 
IN THE MATTER OF  §   
AMENDMENTS TO THE §  GENERAL ORDER NO. 2025-16 
LOCAL RULES OF DISCIPLINE  § 
 § 
 
 ORDER 
 
 The Court proposed the amendments included in the attached Local Rules of Discipline, 

Appendix A of the Southern District of Texas Local Rules. The rules have been approved by the 

Judicial Council of the Fifth Circuit through its Rules Committee.  The Rules of Discipline are 

ADOPTED by the court effective September 15, 2025. 

 

Signed the 15th day of September 2025. 

 

      __________________________________________ 
      RANDY CRANE 
      CHIEF JUDGE 

Julie Kittleman
RC_sig
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APPENDIX A 
RULES OF DISCIPLINE 

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS 

(Effective September 15, 2025) 

Rule 1.   Standards of Professional Conduct. 

A. Attorneys who practice before this court are required to act as mature and 
responsible professionals, and the minimum standard is the Texas Disciplinary 
Rules of Professional Conduct. 

B. Violation of the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct will be grounds 
for disciplinary action, but the court is not limited by that code. 

Rule 2.   Conviction of Crime. 

A. An attorney who practices before this court convicted of a felony offense or a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or a controlled substance (excluding 
controlled substance offenses punishable as fine-only misdemeanors) in any United 
States federal or state court must notify this court in writing within 30 days and 
furnish to the clerk of court a certified copy of the judgment of conviction.   

B. After the court has notice that an attorney who practices before this court has a 
felony conviction or a misdemeanor conviction as described in Rule 2.A., it will 
follow the procedures outlined in Rule 5 to determine whether discipline should be 
imposed on the attorney. 

Rule 3.   Discipline by A Licensing Authority. 

A. An attorney who practices before this court disciplined by a licensing authority of 
one of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, or a Territory of the United States, 
must notify this court in writing within 30 days and furnish to the clerk of the court 
a certified copy of the order of discipline.   

B. An attorney who practices before this court may be suspended by the Southern 
District of Texas if he or she receives discipline from a licensing authority for any 
reason other than nonpayment of dues or failure to meet continuing legal education 
requirements. This rule shall include, but is not limited to, instances where an 
attorney: 
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i is disbarred, 

ii received an active suspension, 

iii resigns in lieu of discipline, 

iv received a probated suspension, or 

v has any other discipline affecting his or her right to practice law imposed, 
by agreement or otherwise, as a result of the attorney’s failure to adhere 
to any applicable standard of professional conduct. 

If a member of this bar voluntarily resigns from a licensing authority for reasons 
unrelated to a disciplinary proceeding or problem, he or she may maintain their 
membership to this bar as long as they retain the right to practice law with another 
licensing authority. 

C. After the court has notice that an attorney who practices before this court has
received discipline as set for the in Rule 3.B.iv or v, it will follow that procedures
outlined in Rule 5 to determine whether discipline should be imposed on the
attorney.

Rule 4.   Discipline by Another Court. 

A. An attorney who practices before this court disciplined by any United States federal
or state court must notify this court in writing within 30 days and furnish to the clerk
of the court a certified copy of the order of discipline.

B. An attorney who practices before this court may be suspended by the Southern
District of Texas if he or she receives discipline from a United States federal or state
court for any reason other than nonpayment of dues or failure to meet continuing
legal education requirements. This rule shall include, but is not limited to, instances
where an attorney:

i is disbarred, 

ii received a suspension, 

iii resigns in lieu of discipline, 
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iv received a sanction, or 

v has any other discipline affecting his or her right to practice law imposed, 
by agreement or otherwise, as a result of the attorney’s failure to adhere 
to any applicable standard of professional conduct. 

C. After this court has notice that an attorney who practices before this court has
received discipline as set for the in Rule 4.B. it will follow the procedures outlined
in Rule 5 to determine whether discipline should be imposed on the attorney.

Rule 5.   Procedure. 

A. If an attorney who practices before this court receives discipline as set forth in Rule
3.B.iv or v, or Rule 4.B., the clerk will serve a notice and order upon the attorney
involved which will become effective thirty days after the date of service, imposing
reciprocal discipline in this district. The notice will be sent by mail and
electronically to the last known address and email on file in the Southern District of
Texas’ CM/ECF data base.

B. Within 30 days of service of the notice an order, the attorney may file a motion for
modification or revocation of the order, unless good cause is shown why a longer
period of time is warranted. The motion must set forth, with specificity, the facts
and principles relied upon by the attorney as to why a different disposition should
be entered by this court. See Rule 5.D. The motion must identify all cases currently
pending in the Southern District of Texas and include the attorney’s clients in each
matter. Timely filing of such a motion will stay the order until further notice by the
court.

C. A motion seeking modification or revocation of the order will be assigned to the
chief judge, or his or her designee, for review.

D. Discipline shall be imposed under this section unless the attorney establishes that:

i 

ii 

iii 

the procedure followed in the other jurisdiction deprived the attorney of 
due process, 

the proof was so clearly lacking that this court should not accept the final 
conclusion of the other jurisdiction, 

the imposition of the identical discipline would result in a grave injustice, 



USDC/SDTX Local Rules (2000) 
  Reprinted September 2025    

iv the misconduct established by the other jurisdiction warrants 
substantially different discipline in this court, or 

v the misconduct for which the attorney was disciplined in the other 
jurisdiction does not constitute professional misconduct in this State or in 
this court.  

E. The chief judge, or his or her designee, will review the attorney’s motion for 
modification or revocation and enter an order granting or denying the motion.  
 

F. The decision of the chief judge, or his or her designee, is final. 
 
Rule 6.   Charges of Misconduct Warranting Discipline. 

A.  Written charges that an attorney who practices before this court engaged in conduct 
which might warrant disciplinary action must be addressed to the chief judge with 
a copy to the clerk of court. 

B. Conduct which may warrant disciplinary action include: 

i conduct unbecoming an attorney who practices before this court, as 
defined in Rule 1, 

ii failure to comply with these local rules or any other rule or order of this 
court,  

iii unethical behavior, or 

iv inability to conduct litigation properly. 

C. The chief judge, or his or her designee, will review the charge to determine whether 
the charge is frivolous. A frivolous charge will be dismissed. If the charge is deemed 
to be not frivolous, the clerk will open a sealed, miscellaneous matter and randomly 
assign it to an active district judge for further proceedings. The presiding judge or 
the chief judge may unseal the case sua sponte or by request. The chief judge may 
consolidate multiple charges filed against the same attorney or charges filed against 
multiple attorneys stemming from the same set of facts. 

D. The presiding judge will send the charged attorney a copy of the complaint and 
allow the attorney an opportunity to respond. 
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E. After the charged attorney has responded, or if the time allotted for a response has 
lapsed with no response, the presiding judge may dismiss the charges or continue 
with the proceedings. If the presiding judge determines that a hearing is needed, the 
presiding judge will give at least 14 days’ notice to the charged attorney of the time 
of the hearing, the charges to be heard, and the right to counsel at the hearing. The 
hearing will be held on the record in open court as a miscellaneous proceeding. Rule 
1101(d)(3), Federal Rules of Evidence applies, and all witnesses must be sworn. 

F. The presiding judge may appoint an attorney to investigate and prosecute the 
charges.  Costs of the prosecutor and fees allowed by the hearing judge may be paid 
from the Attorney Admission Fund. 

G. If the presiding judge determines that a mediation would be beneficial, the costs of 
such mediation may be paid from the Attorney Admission Fund.  

H. The presiding judge will file his or her judgment, providing a copy to the chief judge 
and the attorney. If the presiding judge determines that disciplinary action should 
be taken, the presiding judge will make findings of violations and order either 
permanent disbarment, a suspension, a written or oral reprimand and whether such 
should be public or private with such conditions as the judge may order.  

I. The presiding judge may assess costs of the proceedings incurred by the court upon 
the attorney if he or she is found in violation of conduct set forth in paragraph 6.B.  

J. The attorney may appeal the judgment by filing a notice of appeal within 14 days 
of the judgment. A panel of three other randomly assigned active district judges of 
the court will hear the appeal.  The appeal will be on the record developed at the 
hearing.  Facts found by the presiding judge are not reviewable unless clearly 
erroneous.  The law determined by the presiding judge is reviewable de novo. The 
decision of the panel is final.  There is no en banc review.  (Amended by General 
Order 2009-17, effective December 1, 2009). 

K. If the membership in the Southern District Bar of the attorney being disciplined was 
not current at the time of the court order imposing discipline, the order can include 
that the attorney may not reapply for admission except under such conditions as the 
court may impose. 

 

 



USDC/SDTX Local Rules (2000) 
  Reprinted September 2025    

Rule 7.   Reinstatement. 

A. A member of this bar who has been suspended or disbarred must apply to this court 
for reinstatement before resuming practice before this court.  A member of this bar 
who has been suspended may apply for reinstatement before the end of his or her 
suspension, but reinstatement will not occur until the suspension has been fully 
served.  A member of this bar who has been disbarred may apply for reinstatement, 
but not before five years from the effective date of the disbarment. 

B. All petitions for reinstatement will be filed with the clerk of the court who will 
promptly refer the petition to the Attorney Admission Committee for its 
recommendation on the petition The recommendation will be presented to the full 
court for a final decision on the petition. 

C. Petitions for reinstatement must be accompanied by all documents related to any 
and all discipline ever received by the attorney, including but not limited to the 
Petition, the Judgment, and all documentation proving all requirements of each 
discipline have been met (i.e., receipts for fines paid, CLE classes taken, etc.).  A 
short narrative is recommended to provide the Attorney Admission Committee any 
additional information relevant to the discipline received. 

D. No petition for reinstatement may be filed within one year following an adverse 
ruling on a previous petition. 

Rule 8.   Attorneys Specially Admitted. 

An appearance by an attorney before the court, by writing, or in person, confers disciplinary 
jurisdiction upon the court under these rules. 

Rule 9.   Service of Papers. 

Service of papers under these rules must be by personal service or by first class mail 
addressed to the respondent or respondent’s attorney. 

Rule 10.   Special Duties of the Clerk. 

Upon final disciplinary action by the court, the clerk will send certified copies of the 
court’s order to the State Bar of Texas. 
 
 



USDC/SDTX Local Rules (2000) 
  Reprinted September 2025    

Rule 11.   Inherent Power of Judges. 

The existence of these rules does not limit the power of district judges to exercise their 
inherent powers over attorneys who practice before them, and the chief judge has the right 
to designate another district judge to serve under these rules in the place of the chief judge. 

Rule 12.   Effective Date. 

These rules are effective immediately; all pending disciplinary matters will be concluded 
under these rules; and the rules effective August 18, 2023, are superseded by them. 
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